Millions of WhatsApp users will LOSE access to their accounts on February 8 unless they agree to share their data with Facebook
With over two billion active users, WhatsApp is without a doubt one of the most popular apps around the world.
But some users have been left reeling by the latest change, which means they could lose access to their account unless they agree to share data with Facebook.
The change affects the way that WhatsApp processes data, and will apply regardless of whether or not they have a Facebook account.
‘We may use the information we receive from them, and they may use the information we share with them, to help operate, provide, improve, understand, customize, support, and market our Services and their offerings, including the Facebook Company Products.’
WhatsApp has confirmed that WhatsApp users in the UK and Europe will not have their data shared with Facebook.
While WhatsApp will start sharing data with Facebook, it’s important to note that WhatsApp is encrypted by default, meaning Facebook will not be able to see the contents of your messages.
However, it will be able to see who you message, as well as how often you do it.
If you use WhatsApp you should have received a notification this week, explaining the changes.